12 Kingdoms/Ghost Hunt Author's Ghost Story Collection Gets Manga

posted on by Joanne Mertz
Fuyumi Ono, Michi Urushihara's Kidan Hyakkei debuts with other supernatural tales in Mei

Media Factory's ghost story magazine Mei launched the manga version of Kidan Hyakkei, a collection of ghost stories by Twelve Kingdoms/Ghost Hunt novelist Fuyumi Ono, on Friday. Michi Urushihara, who also draws Yorukumo in Shogakukan's monthly Ikki magazine, is creating the Kidan Hyakkei manga.

Kidan Hyakkei is Ono's first collection of short ghost stories. The first story to be turned into a manga is "Okiniiri" (Favorite), which begins with a little girl staring at what appears to be nothing on the ceiling, before pointing and crying out loud, "A swing!"

Mei is also running manga of ghost stories by Akiko Hatsu, Minaka Itō, Yoko Kondou, Machiko Kyo, and Tomoe Shimomoto.

Tokyopop licensed and released the first four volumes of Ono's Twelve Kingdoms light novel series between 2007 and 2010. Media Blasters released the anime version in North America in August 2003 with a complete collection release in 2009. A new collection of short Twelve Kingdoms stories will debut this year.

Del Rey published 11 of the first 12 volumes from the Ghost Hunt manga series in North America, and Shiho Inada launched a new manga sequel last year. Funimation licensed and released the 25-episode television anime version of the manga on DVD in 2008.

Source: Comic Natalie

Update: Urushihara's spelling fixed. Thanks, Manga News

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives