• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the new ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

5th Tezuka Osamu Bunka-sho awards

posted on

Asahi Shimbun, one of Japan's largest newspapers, offers the 5th Tezuka Osamu Bunka-sho ("Tezuka Cultural Award") and invites Manga fans to nominate their favorite Manga as a candidate for the award. Nominated Manga's must be published in Japan during the year 2000, reprints are not eligible.

Last year's winner was Morohoshi Daijiro (Familly name first) who won for his manga "Saiyu-Yoen-Den", which is based on the Chinese legend of The Monkey King (Hsi Yu Chi), on which Akira Toriyama's Dragon Ball is also losely based. Frederik. L. Schodt won a special award for his book "Dreamland Japan".

Fans are invited to submit the title and author, their address, name, zip number, age, and telephone number to [email protected] Only one submission is allowed per fan.

Everyone who submits a nomination will be eligible to win a variety of prizes which will be given away in a random drawing, prizes include "Watch, T-shirt, knapsack, towel, badge, book coupon and so forth."

bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives