K-On! Album to Feature New Manga Strips, Sheet Music

posted on 2009-08-03 13:29 EDT by Egan Loo
K-On! Official Band Yarō yo!! to ship in Japan on September 2

The K-On! Official Band Yarō yo!! album (Official K-On! Let's-Create-a-Band!! album), a collection of theme songs and background music from the K-On! television anime series about a budding high school band, will bundle a 164-page band score book with exclusive four-panel manga strips by the original creator kakifly. The album will contain 109 tracks, most of which are background music, when it ships in Japan on September 2. It will also include the full five-person versions of the "Cagayake! GIRLS," "Don't say 'lazy,'" and "Fuwafuwa Jikan" songs, in which the younger character Azusa Nakano (Ayana Taketatsu) joins the anime's main quartet in performing.

For fans who want to play cover versions of the theme songs, the album includes several instrumental versions. In particularly, there are six versions of "Cagayake! GIRLS" — one instrumental version removes the vocal and guitar tracks, another removes the vocals and keyboards, and so on. The band score will feature the sheet music for nine of the theme songs and original numbers, as supervised by the real-life musicians who wrote and performed them.

"Hōkago Teatime," last week's two-CD mini-album "performed" by the five K-On! characters, became the first anime character CD release to top either the weekly album or single chart of the Oricon survey firm. Two volumes of kakifly's original manga have shipped in Japan.

Source: Comic Natalie

Image © kakifly, Houbunsha/Sakuragaoka High School Light Music Club

discuss this in the forum (9 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives