• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

NHK Launches Ani-Kuri 15

posted on by Evan Miller
Japan's best anime creators team up to create one-minute shorts for NHK

Beginning May 7, the Japanese public broadcasting network NHK will launch a special collection of one-minute anime shorts by 15 of Japan's biggest anime directors and creators. The title of the collection, Ani-Kuri 15, is abbreviated from the words "anime" and "creators."

The one-minute shorts will be broadcast in three "seasons," with each group of five animated shorts scheduled to run between regular programming on NHK at three periods in the coming months. Due to the nature of the broadcasts, the one-minute shorts will not be listed in TV programming guides. However, NHK has mentioned that the shorts will run primarily on NHK's "General" channel rather than the NHK "Educational" channel. In addition, the shorts will appear on the official Ani-kuri 15 website in the near future.

The directors, creators, creative teams and production studios participating in Ani-Kuri 15, listed along with some of their well-known works, are as follows:

Season One
Shinji Kimura (Studio 4°C) - Art Director, Steamboy
Shōjirō Nishimi (Studio 4°C) - Character Designer, Tekkonkinkreet
Akemi Hayashi (Gainax) - Character Designer, Fruits Basket
Osamu Kobayashi (Madhouse) - Art/Mecha Desgin, Gungrave
Yasufumi Soejima (Gonzo) - 3D/CG Director, Last Exile

Season Two
Atsushi Takeuchi (Production I.G) - Mecha Design, Ghost in the Shell
Mamoru Oshii (Production I.G) - Director, Ghost in the Shell
Kazuto Nakazawa (Studio 4°C) - First Unit Director, Kill Bill Chapter 3: The Origin of O-Ren from Kill Bill: Volume 1
Range Murata (Character Design, Blue Submarine No. 6 and Tatsuya Yabuta (Story Design, Final Fantasy VII) (Gonzo)
Tobira Oda (Original Manga, Danchi Tomō) and Yasuyuki Shimizu (Key Animation, Naruto (movies)) (Studio 4°C)

Season Three
Michael Arias (Studio 4°C) - Director, Tekkonkinkreet
Makoto Shinkai (Comics-Web-Film) - Director, The Place Promised in Our Early Days
Shōji Kawamori (Satelight) - Director, The Super Dimension Fortress Macross: Do You Remember Love?
Mahiro Maeda (Gonzo) - Director, Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo
Satoshi Kon (Madhouse) - Director, Paprika

Source: Saiani

Many thanks to Dormcat for this news item.

discuss this in the forum (5 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives