• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Noragami Anime's 2nd Promo Features Hello Sleepwalkers' Theme Song

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
BONES' supernatural series starring Hiroshi Kamiya to premiere on January 5.

The official website for BONES' television anime adaptation of Adachitoka's Noragami manga began streaming the anime's second promotional video on Thursday. The video previews Hello Sleepwalkers' opening theme song "Goya no Machiawase" (Overnight Appointment). The video also reveals that the show will premiere on Tokyo MX on January 5 before airing on MBS, TV Aichi, and BS-11.

Kotaro Tamura (Wolf Children assistant director, Baccano! episode director) is directing the anime off of scripts by Deko Akao (Arakawa Under the Bridge, Pretty Rhythm Aurora Dream). Toshihiro Kawamoto (Cowboy Bebop, Wolf's Rain, Golden Boy, Gosick) is designing the characters.

The story follows Yato (played by Hiroshi Kamiya), a poor minor god living an insignificant life in the human world whose dream is to someday be worshiped by the masses. In hopes of garnering more of a following, he spends his time trying to spread his name by writing his cell phone number on the walls of bathrooms across the city and aiding those in need (for 5 yen). He is, as he likes to call himself, a "delivery god." Hiyori Iki (Maaya Uchida), a daughter from a respectable family, saves Yato from a traffic accident, but is hit instead. Because of this, Hiyori becomes a "Hanyō" — someone whose spirit comes out easily. Hiyori pursues Yato to get her body fixed, and the two begin their journey together with Yato's shinki (a tool gods use), a young boy named Yukine (Yūki Kaji). As the three fight against demons who would seek to harm humans, Yato's past is gradually revealed.

The rest of the main cast includes: Aki Toyosaki as Kofuku, Asami Imai as Tomone (Mayu), Daisuke Ono as Daikoku, Jun Fukuyama as Kazuma, Mikako Komatsu as Mutsumi, Miyuki Sawashiro as Bishamon, Tōru Ohkawa as Tenjin, and Rie Kugimiya as Nora.

Adachitoka launched the manga in the Monthly Shonen Magazine in 2011, and one-shot manga stories have also run in the spinoff publication Monthly Shōnen Magazine + since that same year. Kodansha released the eighth compiled volume of the manga in October. The ninth volume will bundle a drama CD on December 17, and the 10th and 11th volumes will both included a bundled anime DVD when they ship on February 17, 2014 and July 17, 2014 respectively.

Update: Fixed theme song title. Thanks, thenextday.

Update 2: Updated summary. Thanks, daisy23.

discuss this in the forum (10 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives