• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Pigtails Collection and Arslan S2 Released Monday

posted on by Andrew Osmond
Also, eight-disc Naruto Shippūden Complete Series 9

On Monday March 25, Anime Limited will release the standard edition of the short film collection Pigtails and Other Short Films from Production I.G. The Blu-ray/DVD will include the following short films: Pigtails, Kick-Heart (which was directed by Masaaki Yuasa), Li'l Spider Girl (Wasurenagumo), Drawer Hobs and OVAL X OVER (which was directed by Hiroyuki Imaishi). All the films are subtitled-only.

While the standard Blu-ray/DVD edition is pictured, a Collectors Edition is exclusively available already from the AllTheAnime website. It includes two books: a 156-page Pigtails Storyboard book, including comments from director Yoshimi Itazu translated into English, and a 140-page Material Archive Book, which has sections on each of the five films.

The individual film Pigtails has won multiple awards, including the Diamond Award in the Animated Film category at the 2016 California Film Awards. The 28-minute animation was directed by Yoshimi Itazu (Miss Hokusai chief animation director), his directorial debut.

Production I.G describes the short:

The earth shook. The sea roared. And then... There is a small house solitary standing by the seaside. A pigtail-braided girl is living there alone since that day. Mail is no longer delivered, but even this morning, she's hanging out the laundry as usual.

MVM will release a Blu-ray edition of The Heroic Legend of Arslan: Dust Storm Dance, which is the eight-part sequel to The Heroic Legend of Arslan. The Anime-on-line website describes the series:

'Arslan and his troops counter an invasion in Peshawar while Etoile guides refugees to Ecbatana. But when a royal relative makes a surprising appearance, Arslan is banished until he can build an army of fifty thousand soldiers. Only his closest companions join him on this impossible task that leads to the port city of Gilan, where a pesky pirate invasion turns out to be the least of their worries.'

Manga Entertainment will release Naruto Shippūden Complete Series 9. The eight-disc set includes episodes 349 to 401 of the series.

discuss this in the forum (3 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives