• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Japanese Otaku Awards' 2007 Winners Announced

posted on by Egan Loo
Top award in seventh annual event goes to video-sharing sites

The 7th Annual Japanese Otaku Awards were presented before a standing-room-only crowd at Tokyo's LOFT/PLUS ONE hall on January 5. The organizers describe it as an informal "event of the otaku, by the otaku, for the otaku" to commemorate the things, people, and events that left a lasting impression on the otaku world in the past year. A panel of eight judges, led by novelist/manga creator Hōsai Tsuruoka and columnist/radio commentator Shunichi Karasawa, first nominated several entries in fields ranging from paranormal phenomena to fujoshi (boys-love otaku) interests. Then the panel held a free-form discussion to determine the winners of the awards presented by each judge, as well as one Grand Prix winner.

Grand Prix

Video-sharing sites (Example: Nico Nico Douga)

Hidekuni Shida Award

The IDOLM@STER (the videogame that loosely inspired the Xenoglossia anime)

Dorii Osaki Award

Blade Runner 25th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition

Naoki Ishiguro Award

Seto no Hanayome

Hisashi Maeda Award

School Days

Harayasa Tōkaimura Award

Evangelion: 1.0 You Are [Not] Alone

Masumi Kurata Award

Kamen Rider Den-O

Shunichi Karasawa Award

The UFO debate in the Japanese Parliament

Hōsai Tsuruoka Award

Regular Kyaku no Kobayashi-kun

Animedia Award

Yasai no Yōsei - N.Y. Salad

While they ultimately did not win awards, the live-action Transformers movie, Mobile Suit Gundam 00, Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann, Dennō Coil, Lucky Star, Jump Square, the PlayStation 3 game console, Miku Hatsune, and Toshio Okada all came up during the freeform discussion. The Otaku Awards event will be broadcasted on Japan's Mondo21 satellite channel in two parts on January 26 and 27. The Grand Prix winners in all seven years are as follows:

Year Winner
2001 Crayon Shin-chan: Arashi wo Yobu Mōretsu! Otona Teikoku no Gyakushū
2002 Kaiyodo
2003 Mobile Suit Gundam Seed
2004 Moe Anthromorphism (In particular, Bincho-tan)
2005 Akihabara
2006 Ultraman 80 (from the live-action Ultraman Mebius special-effects series)
2007 Video-sharing sites (Example: Nico Nico Douga)

Source: Ultimatum

discuss this in the forum (3 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives