Kana Adachi, Kana Hanazawa Perform Theme Songs for Layton Mystery Tanteisha Anime

posted on by Bayleigh Baker
Manga adaption to begin serialization on March 20

This year's April issue of Shogakukan's Ciao magazine announced the new theme song artists for Layton Mystery Tanteisha Katori no Nazotoki File (Layton Mystery Detective Agency: Kat's Mystery-Solving Files), the television anime inspired by the Professor Layton game franchise, on Friday. Kana Adachi will perform the opening theme song "Change!" and Kana Hanazawa, who is also voicing the character Katrielle, will perform the ending theme song "Daijōbu."

The magazine also announced that the manga adaptation (pictured right) will begin with a 131-page chapter in the May issue, which ships on April 3. Hori Oritoka will draw the manga.

The anime will premiere on April 8 and air every Sunday at 8:30 a.m. on Fuji TV and other channels.

The anime will be based on Level 5's Layton's Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaires' Conspiracy game that focuses on Katrielle "Kat" Layton, daughter of Professor Hershel Layton.

Like the game, the anime will be set in London and follow Katrielle as she solves mysteries with her talking dog Sherl. The first episode's story centers on Simon Wright, an Englishman with a wife and two daughters, and who has moved in with his family to their recently purchased house. But when his wife and daughters disappear, he turns to the Layton Mystery Detective Agency for help.

Juurouta Kosugi will voice Sherl (replacing Kōji Yakusho), Kyousuke Ikeda will voice Noah Montoir (replacing Kentarō Sakaguchi), and Youhei Tadano will voice Darjeeling Aspoirot (replacing Hajime Inoue). Singer and actor Tsubasa Imai will voice Simon in a guest role in the show's first episode.

Level 5 CEO Akihiro Hino (creative producer for Yo-kai Watch, Time Bokan 24) is the creative director, and he is also credited with the original concept and series composition. Susumu Mitsunaka (Haikyu!!, Cuticle Detective Inaba) is directing the series at Liden Films (The Heroic Legend of Arslan, Terraformars). Yoko Takada (key animation for The Heroic Legend of Arslan: Dust Storm Dance, Inuyasha) is designing the characters based on Takuzō Nagano's original designs.

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives