Ghibli Releases

posted on by Christopher Macdonald
Walt Disney is set to release Pom Poko and My Neighbors the Yamadas on August 16th.

The movies, both directed by Isao Takahata, will be the first Takahata directed Ghibli films released by Walt Disney in North America. Takahata's Grave of the Fireflies is availabel from Central Park Media, and some of his pre-Ghibli work, such as Panda Go Panda, is available from other companies.

The only other Ghibli movie not directed by Miyazaki that has been released in North America is The Cat Returns, which was released by Disney earlier this year.

Last April it was reported that My Neighbors the Yamadas, Only Yesterday, and Pom Poko were to be released in November of that year.

With the exception of Princess Mononoke, Walt Disney and Buena Vista Home Entertainment have, up until now, released all previous Ghibli movies in batches of 3 (Spirited Away, Castle in the Sky & Kiki's Delivery Service in April 2003 and Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, The Cat Returns and Porco Rosso in February 2005), however there is currently no news of a third title, such as Only Yesterday, being scheduled for August.

As with previous releases, Pom Poko and My Neighbors the Yamadas will come in 2-disc sets that will include a second disc with extras. Both films have been rated PG by the MPAA for "Violence, Scary Images and Thematic Elements " (Pom Poko) and "Mild Thematic Elements" My Neighbors the Yamadas.

Pom Poko Release Details
My Newighbors the Yamadas Release Details

discuss this in the forum (13 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives