• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

56th Shogakukan Manga Award Winners Announced (Updated)

posted on by Egan Loo

The final judging committee of the 56th Shogakukan Manga Awards has announced this year's winners on Friday. Each winning title will be honored with a bronze statuette and a prize of 1 million yen (about US$12,000) at a March 3 ceremony at the Imperial Hotel in Tokyo. Shogakukan itself only published two of this year's winners.

Shogakukan has been awarding this prize since 1956 (for works published in 1955). Recent winners have included Yumi Hotta and Takeshi Obata's Hikaru no Go (2000), Rumiko Takahashi's Inuyasha (2002), Naoki Urasawa's 20th Century Boys (2003), Mine Yoshizaki's Keroro Gunsō (2005), Kotomi Aoki's Boku no Hatsukoi o Kimi ni Sasagu (2008), Kanoko Sakurakoji's Black Bird (2009), and just last year, Kenta Shinohara's Sket Dance.

Children's Category

Yumeiro Pâtissière
Natsumi Matsumoto
Serialized in Ribon (Shueisha)

Boys' Category

King Golf
Ken Sasaki, Advisor: Masaki Tani
Serialized in Weekly Shonen Sunday (Shogakukan)

Girls' Category

Ōoku: The Inner Chamber
Fumi Yoshinaga
Serialized in Melody (Hakusensha)
Published by Viz Media in North America

General Category

Ushijima the Loan Shark
Shohei Manabe
Serialized in Big Comic Spirits (Shogakukan)

Uchū Kyōdai
Chūya Koyama 
Serialized in Weekly Morning (Kodansha)

Source: Comic Natalie

Update: This year's judging committee included Mitsuru Adachi, Akira Oze, author Mitsuyo Kakuta, Kaiji Kawaguchi, Chiho Saitō, Kenshi Hirokane, novelist Yū Nagashima, and Buronson.

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives