• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Funimation Reveals Dub Casts for Planetarian, Handa-kun, Saiki K., Show By Rock!! Short!!

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Funimation to premiere English-dubbed shows this week

Funimation revealed the English dub cast members for its broadcast dubs for the planetarian, Handa-kun, The Disastrous Life of Saiki K., and Show By Rock!! Short!! anime on Sunday.

The cast of planetarian, under director Clifford Chapin, includes:

  • David Matranga as Junker
  • Jill Harris as Yumemi
  • Christopher Bevins as Manager
  • Cris George as Mikashima
  • Colleen Clinkenbeard as Satomi
  • Kent Williams as Older Junker

The dub for planetarian will premiere on Thursday, August 4 at 12:30 p.m. EDT.

Naokatsu Tsuda (JoJo's Bizarre Adventure series, Inu X Boku Secret Service) is directing and writing both the planetarian net anime and anime film at David Production (JoJo's Bizarre Adventure series). Shogo Yasukawa (Terraformars, Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma, JoJo's Bizarre Adventure) is writing the scripts alongside Tsuda. Katsuichi Nakayama (Nishi no Yoki Majo - Astraea Testament) and Shunsuke Machitani (episode director for Oreimo, Kurokami The Animation, JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders) are the series directors. Hitomi Takechi (Hyperdimension Neptunia) is adapting Eeji Komatsu's original character designs for animation. Sayaka Sasaki is performing the net anime's ending theme song "Twinkle Starlight," Ceui is performing an image song titled "Worlds Pain," and Lia is performing the film's theme song "Hoshi no Fune" (Starship). The planetarian: Hoshi no Hito anime film will premiere in Japan on September 3, and Funimation has not yet confirmed if it also has the license to the film.

The cast of Handa-kun, under director Mike McFarland, includes:

  • Robert McCollum as Handa
  • Duncan Brannan as Kawafuji
  • Micah Solusod as Junichi Aizawa
  • Chris Burnett as Mikaido Reo
  • Dallas Reid as Yukio Kondo
  • Alejandro Saab as Akane Tsutsui
  • Terri Doty as Juri
  • Sarah Wiedenheft as Maiko Mori

The dub for Handa-kun premieres on Friday, August 5 at 8:30 p.m. EDT in the United States and Canada, and August 6 in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Yoshitaka Koyama (Rune Soldier, Noramimi, Kero Kero Chime) is directing the anime at diomedea, while Michiko Yokote (Shirobako, Yamada-kun and the Seven Witches, Dagashikashi) is supervising and penning the series' scripts alongside scriptwriters Mariko Kunisawa (Hatsukoi Limited, Magimoji Rurumo) and Miharu Hirami (Cookin' Idol Ai! Mai! Main!, Blue Spring Ride). Mayuko Matsumoto (Gingitsune, KanColle) is designing the characters.

The cast of The Disastrous Life of Saiki K., under director Apphia Yu, includes:

  • Jerry Jewell as Kusuo Saiki
  • David Wald as Riki Nendou
  • Micah Solusod as Shun Kaido
  • Tia Ballard as Kokomi Teruhashi
  • Kyle Phillips as Kineshi Hairo
  • Joel McDonald as Reita Toritsuka
  • Jill Harris as Chiyo Yumehara
  • Chuck Huber as Kuniharu Saiki
  • Morgan Garrett as Kurumi Saiki

The dub for The Disastrous Life of Saiki K. premieres on August 7 at 2:05 p.m. EDT.

The Disastrous Life of Saiki K. adapts Shūichi Asō's manga from Shueisha's Weekly Shonen Jump. Hiroaki Sakurai (Di Gi Charat, Maid Sama!) is directing the anime at Egg Firm and J.C. Staff, and Michiko Yokote (Shirobako, Kyōkai no Rinne) is in charge of series composition. Masayuki Onji (Kimi to Boku., Aoi Hana) is in charge of character design. The new special musical unit Saikic Lover is performing background music for the anime. The group consists of vocalist Yoffy, guitarist Imajo, and arranger Kenichirō Ōishi. Natsuki Hanae is performing the late-night broadcast's opening theme song, and Dempagumi.inc is performing the late-night broadcast's ending theme song.

The cast for Show By Rock!! Short!!, under director Caitlin Glass, includes:

  • Sonny Strait as Maple
  • Bryn Apprill as Cyan
  • Alexis Tipton as Chuchu
  • Monica Rial as Moa
  • Caitlin Glass as Retoree
  • Apphia Yu as Holmy
  • Natalie Hoover as Tsukino
  • Morgan Berry as Jaclyn
  • Mikaela Krantz as Rosia
  • Mike McFarland as Crow
  • Chris Sabat as Rom
  • Jerry Jewell as Aion
  • Ian Sinclair as Yaiba

The dub for Show By Rock!! Short!! will premiere on Monday, August 1 at 12:15 p.m. EDT.

Takahiro Ikezoe returned from the original Show By Rock!! series to again direct Show By Rock!! Short!! at BONES. Touko Machida, who wrote the scripts for the first eight episodes of the original anime, is handling the series composition. Geechs is credited with production cooperation.

The anime centers on the band members of Plasmagica, ShinganCrimsonz, and other bands from the original anime series. Each episode introduces and features a different band. The anime is a "carefree enjoyable" series that shares the worldview of the original TV anime series.

Thanks to Luke Dias for the news tip.

discuss this in the forum (12 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives