New Prince of Tennis Anime's Additional Cast Listed

posted on 2011-12-02 20:00 EST by Jennifer Sherman
Daisuke Ono, Hiroki Aiba, Daichi Endō perform U-17 camp players

The January issue of Shueisha's Jump Square magazine is announcing additional cast for the television anime adaptation of Takeshi Konomi's The New Prince of Tennis manga on Saturday.

Daisuke Ono (Minami-ke, Black Butler) will play the U-17 camp first court player Kazuya Tokugawa. Hiroki Aiba (live-action The Prince of Tennis' Syuusuke Fuji) will perform Kanata Irie, a calm third-year high school student and third court player. Daichi Endō's role will be Jūjirō Oni, the fifth court player feared as "hell's guard."

The magazine also revealed Norimasa Fujisawa will sing the tennis series' opening theme song "Mirai no Bokura e." Based on Konomi's idea, the voice actors for Ryoma Echizen (Junko Minagawa), Kunimitsu Tezuka (Ryotaro Okiayu), Marui Bunta, Akaya Kirihara, Kenya Oshitari, and Kintarō Tōyama will perform "Enjoy" as the anime's closing theme song.

The New Prince of Tennis has been running in Shueisha's Jump Square magazine since 2009. The story begins several months after the national tennis tournament that ended the original Prince of Tennis manga. Viz Media published the 42nd and final volume of Konomi's original manga run in North America in July.

TV Tokyo confirmed that The New Prince of Tennis will premiere in Japan on January 4, 2012 at 25:50 (effectively January 5 at 1:50 a.m.).

Source: Comic Natalie

Image © Takeshi Konomi/Shueisha・NAS・The New Prince of Tennis Project

discuss this in the forum (4 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

Interest homepage / archives