• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles Game Gets Switch Version in Japan on June 9

posted on by Adriana Hazra
Game launched in English for PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PC on October 15

This year's 10th issue of Shueisha's Weekly Shonen Jump magazine announced on Monday that Sega's Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba - The Hinokami Chronicles (Kimetsu no Yaiba: Hinokami Keppūtan) game will launch for Nintendo Switch in Japan on June 9.

The Switch version of the game will have a Standard Edition and a Limited Edition. The Standard Edition will be available digitally and as physical copies and will be priced at 7,480 yen (about US$65). The Limited Edition will be available as physical copies only and will be priced at 11,880 yen (about US$103). The Limited Edition will include download codes for five Demon Slayer Academy costumes for Tanjirō, Nezuko, Zenitsu, Inosuke, and Giyū; as well as codes for 16,000 Slayer Points; and the "Butterfly Mansion Patient Wear" costumes for Tanjirō, Zenitsu, and Inosuke.

Sega has not announced whether or not the Switch version of the game will release worldwide.

The game launched in North America and Europe for PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, and PC via Steam on October 15.

The game had three free updates. The first update launched on November 4, and added Rui and Akaza as playable characters. The second update added Yahaba and Susamaru on November 24. The third free update added Yushiro, Tamayo, and Enmu as playable DLC characters on December 16.

The game has 1 million copies in circulation worldwide. The 1 million is for copies in circulation that the company has released but not necessarily all sold. The number is not a sales statistic.

The game's Digital Deluxe Edition includes character unlock keys for Demon Slayer Academy characters; avatars; butterfly mansion costumes for Tanjiro, Zenitsu, and Inosuke; and 8,000 Slayer Points. The game also has a paid add-on bundle that includes the same extra content.

The game shipped in Japan on October 14. Sega released the game in English in Asia on October 14.

Sega Asia describes the game:

Become the Demon Slayer, Tanjiro Kamado, to fight off the demons threatening humanity in order to turn his sister Nezuko, who has become a demon, back into a human, as well as to avenge the death of his family by hunting down the demon who killed them.

The game features a story mode that allows fans to relive the story of the first television anime. A battle mode lets players play as different characters. Playable characters include: Tanjiro Kamado, Nezuko Kamado, Zenitsu Agatsuma, Inosuke Hashibira, Giyu Tomioka, Sakonji Urokodaki, Sabito, Makomo, Shinobu Kochō, Kyōjurō Rengoku, Tanjiro Kamado (using Hinokami Kagura), and Murata. Tanjiro, Nezuko, and Giyu Tomioka as they appear in the Demon Slayer Academy shorts also joined the game as playable characters.

Source: Weekly Shonen Jump issue 10

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives